Astroland Amusement Park
The only real Coney Island experience is the smell of hot dogs, ocean air, and screams from the thrill rides at Astroland. Find over 10 games of skill, 3 Arcades, 2 Coney Island Style Restaurants. NYC largest amusement park, home of the world-famous Cyclone!. It first opened on June 26, 1927, the Cyclone has emerged as the outdoor amusement industry’s most famous, most influential, and most copied individual ride.The only real Coney Island experience is the smell of hot dogs, ocean air, and screams from the thrill rides at Astroland. Find over 10 games of skill, 3 Arcades, 2 Coney Island Style Restaurants. NYC largest amusement park, home of the world-famous Cyclone!. It first opened on June 26, 1927, the Cyclone has emerged as the outdoor amusement industry’s most famous, most influential, and most copied individual ride.
1000 Surf Ave Brooklyn, NY 11224 Location: Brooklyn
Official website:Official Web Site
Coney Island And Astroland Amusement Park An Extensive Tour
Coney Island is a peninsula, formerly an island, in southernmost Brooklyn, New York City, USA, with a beach on the Atlantic Ocean. The neighborhood of the same name is a community of 60,000 people in the western part of the peninsula, with Seagate to its west; Brighton Beach and Manhattan Beach to its east; and Gravesend to the north.
The area was a major resort and site of amusement parks that reached its peak in the early 20th century. It declined in popularity after World War II and endured years of neglect. In recent years, the area has seen the opening of MCU Park, home to the Brooklyn Cyclones minor league baseball team.
Native American inhabitants, the Lenape, called the island Narrioch (land without shadows), because, as is true of other south shore Long Island beaches, its compass orientation keeps the beach area in sunlight all day. The Dutch name for the island was Conyne Eylandt (Konijnen Eiland in modern Dutch spelling),meaning Rabbit Island. This name is found on the New Netherland map of 1639 by Johannes Vingboon. (New York State and New York City were originally a Dutch colony and settlement, named Nieuw Nederlandt and Nieuw Amsterdam.) As on other Long Island barrier islands, Coney Island had many and diverse rabbits and rabbit hunting prospered until resort development eliminated their habitat.
It is generally accepted by scholars that Coney Island is an English adaptation of the Dutch name, Konijnen Eiland. Coney is also an archaic and dialectal English word for rabbit. Coney came into the English language through Old French (Conil), which derives from the Latin word for rabbit, cuniculus. The English name "Conney Isle" was used on maps as early as 1690,and by 1733 the modern spelling "Coney Island" was used. J.F.W. des Barre's chart of New York harbor in the Atlantic Neptune, 1779, and John Eddy map of 1811 both use the modern "Coney Island" spelling.
Even though the history of Coney Island's name and its Anglicization can be traced through historical maps spanning the 17th century to the present,] and all the names translate to "Rabbit Island" in modern English, there are still those who contend that the name derives from other sources. Some say that early English settlers named it Coney Island after its cone-like hills. Others claim that an Irish captain named Peter O'Connor had, in the 1700s, named Coney Island after an island (Inishmulclohy) in County Sligo, Ireland. Yet another purported origin is from the name of the Indian tribe (the Konoh tribe) who supposedly once inhabited it. A further claim is that the island is named after Henry Hudson's "right-hand-man" John Coleman, supposed to have been slain by Indians.
Between about 1880 and World War II, Coney Island was the largest amusement area in the United States, attracting several million visitors per year. At its height it contained three competing major amusement parks, Luna Park, Dreamland, and Steeplechase Park, as well as many independent amusements.
Astroland served as a major amusement park from 1962 to 2008. It was replaced by a new incarnation of Dreamland in 2009 and of Luna Park in 2010. The other parks and attractions are: Deno's Wonder Wheel Amusement Park (a successful family owned park with over 20 rides located directly on the Boardwalk), 12th Street Amusements, and Kiddie Park. Also, the Eldorado arcade has its own indoor bumper car ride. The Zipper and Spider on 12th Street were closed permanently on September 4, 2007 and dismantling begun, after its owner lost his lease. They are to be reassembled at an amusement park in Honduras.